Greyt Inspirations Life

A little about our life, our business and our pets. www.greytinspirations.com

Higher beds can lead to injuries

I found a very important article in the Dayton Daily News this week that may be of interest to a lot of dog owners.  Bed makers are making beds much higher than they used to and it’s resulting in injuries to pets.  I can speak from personal experience on this issue.

 

 

 

Billie looking for birds.

Billie looking for birds.

The last time I bought a new bed a few years ago I was excited because it was very high off the ground.  I loved that about it.  I even remember thinking how great it would be because the dogs wouldn’t be able to get up on it — at least not unless I wanted them to.  With my old bed they were all on the bed all the time and there was never any room for me.  I thought with the new bed that I’d at least be able to determine who got up and when.  My plan worked great.  Nobody could get up on the bed unless I helped them get up.  I have big dogs but even they couldn’t jump up on this bed because it was so high.  Except.  Except for Billie.  Billie comes from a family that does agility, rally, obedience and every dog sport known to man.  She is very athletic.  From the time she was a small puppy she could jump up on the bed.  There was nothing I could do to stop her unless I shut the door to the bedroom and even then she would paw at the door until she got it open so she could get on the bed.

 

 

Flash forward a couple of years and we took Billie to the vet to have her hips x-rayed (because we’re good people and good breeders, yada yada, and that’s what we do when our dogs are two years old and we are trying to see if we should breed them later).  You should know that Billie has four generations of Good and Excellent hips behind her.  Nothing but great hips.  So we thought this was just a formality.  Imagine my shock when I get back her results and the x-rays show that she has evidence of some kind of old injury on one of her hips!  I was completely stunned.  She had never been injured that I knew of.  Never limped.  But she had been up and down on my high bed ten thousand times, even rolling off the bed sometimes.  I’m convinced that’s how she hurt her hip.  I thought it was a freak accident until I saw this story yesterday:

 

Vets seeing rise in dog injuries due to higher beds 

By Laurie Denger

Staff Writer

Sunday, January 11, 2009

 

The Wall Street Journal recently ran a story about a new problem affecting dogs across the country and the blame lies squarely on the bedding industry. You see, it seems that bedmakers are quietly and dangerously increasing the height of beds. And dogs are taking it squarely in the hips, elbows and shoulders.

 

The Journal says vets are reporting they are seeing a rise in the injuries to dogs — elbow and shoulder arthritis, hip dysplasia and degenerative disk disease — because older dogs are having to leap higher and higher to jump onto the bed.

 

OK, dogs don’t HAVE to jump on the bed, but try to keep them off.

 

Anyway, it seems the bedding industry may be in cahoots with the pet furniture industry because guess who also is doing booming business? Yes, the makers of steps that help dogs climb onto beds.

 

The Journal article details all kinds of pet stair products, from a $40 model to a $535 job that has decorator fabrics.

 

deco-3I guess the moral of this story is that if you have a very high bed you really do need to think about getting some pet stairs for your pet, especially if he/she is one of those dogs that tries to jump on the bed.  Otherwise they can injure themselves jumping up and down from the bed.  I’ve been looking for some nice steps (but I am not paying $535!!!) but I haven’t found what I want yet.  I have a feeling that Billie still won’t use the steps.  She shows no signs of any problems from her old injury, whenever it occurred.  She still hops up and down on the bed multiple times everyday, but she’s a young dog right now.  I don’t know if she’ll have any arthritic problems when she’s older or not.  Right now our concern is whether we should breed her later.  I know, with 99 percent certainty, that her hip x-ray reflects an injury, but I have never had a dog with a hip problem before so this is something of a moral dilemma for me.  On the other hand, she is a wonderful dog in every other way, certainly worthy of being a mother.  But I may be criticized for breeding her with the hip problem, even though it comes from an injury and it’s not genetic.  It’s a hard decision to make.

January 22, 2009 - Posted by | dogs, Pets | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

