Greyt Inspirations Life

A little about our life, our business and our pets. www.greytinspirations.com

New Toys

Have you checked out new toys for dogs recently?  I usually buy my dog food either from a woman who has a boarding kennel (if I’m buying expensive, gourmet dog food), or at the Tractor Supply Co. (if I’m buying our old stand-by), so the toy selection at either place isn’t that great.  They have frisbees and Kongs and rope chews and pig ears and things like that.  They have some toys with squeakers.  Maybe a few things that squawk or talk.  Toys don’t last very long around here with five dogs so I usually try to pick up a new toy a couple of times a month.  It’s a little discouraging to see the dogs race around the backyard with it and rip it to pieces about ten minutes after I bring it home.

 

 

 

 

The Ice Lick

The Ice Lick

Maybe the toys I’ve been getting them are too boring?  I was looking at some dog toys online this week and I saw some toys that I’d never seen before.  They did have things for smart dogs — like Buster Cubes and balls that your dog has to roll to make a treat come out.  My dogs can do that.  I’ve seen them do that.  But they lose interest pretty fast.  It seems like they don’t want to have to do that much work to get a treat.  But there were a lot of other new toys on these web sites that I hadn’t seen before.  There was one toy that I thought my dogs would love.  It was a giant block of ice with toys frozen inside it.  It’s called, appropriately enough, the Ice Lick.  All you have to do is gather your dog’s favorite toys and treats, freeze them in the bucket mold, put the base of the Ice Lick in your yard, and let your dog lick to his heart’s content during the summer.  My dogs love ice so I think they would really enjoy this activity.

 

 

 

Laser Balls

Laser Balls

I also found the Talk To Me Laser Ball.  You can record your own personal message on the laser ball.  There are motion-activated lights and the ball randomly dispenses treats while your dog plays with it.  That sounds like it would be fun, too.  It says that it’s “durable,” but that can mean different things depending on who plays with it.  Is it durable while a Bichon plays with it?  Or is it durable while a Newfoundland plays with it?

 

 

 

Bubble Buddy

Bubble Buddy

Another interactive toy I found that I thought my own dogs would like was the Bubble Buddy.  This one is cool.  It’s a little machine that blows bubbles for your dog.  LOL  And — get this — the bubbles are chicken, peanut butter and bacon-scented.  I can just picture my dogs chasing and trying to bite the bubbles.  I wonder how long that would amuse them?  But, I do hope the machine is sturdy because there could be dogs that would figure out the bubbles are coming from the machine and try to get at the source of the bubbles.

 

 

(I know.  I always look for weaknesses in these toys.  That’s because I have spent so much money over the years on toys that were destroyed quickly.)

 

 

The Dog Brick interactive game

The Dog Brick interactive game

One new category of toys/games for your dog is the kind of game that you are supposed to play with your dog.  Nina Ottoson has created a number of these games, such as the Dog Brick Game.  I chose this one at random as a sample.  These interactive games are supposed to stimulate a dog’s brain AND reinforce his relationship with people.  The games have unique mechanisms that require mental as well as physical dexterity to work through the challenges and reveal the hidden food rewards.  You can set the games to different levels of complexity.  So, if your dog becomes very good at the beginning level, you can make it a little harder for him.

 

 

The Dog Brick interactive game requires the dog to first dislodge the removable bones, then to push the sliding covers out of the way so he can access hidden treats in the compartments below. The level of difficulty for the Brick can be varied, depending upon the dog’s experience and his enthusiasm for the game. For example, to simplify the game, don’t initially use the removable bones. This game is tough and hard wearing. It has anti-slip feet on the bottom and can be clean with soap and water or put in the dishwasher. Skill level = medium.

 

Note: This game is designed for you and your dog to learn and have fun together. The dog should not be left unsupervised with the game.

 

You can read more about Nina Ottoson and her interactive dog games in this Whole-Dog-Journal article:  Interactive Dog Toys, by Pat Miller.

 

I really had no idea that there were so many new and fun toys for dogs out now.  I think I need to order a few things for my dogs since I haven’t seen these toys where I buy food.

March 11, 2009 - Posted by | dogs, Pets | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

