Greyt Inspirations Life

A little about our life, our business and our pets. www.greytinspirations.com

Dogs and water safety

Pearl

Pearl

Please forgive me for being a proud mom, but I thought I would share this picture of my little Pearl. (Ignore that woman in orange.) I met somebody at the shows this weekend who was helping me hold my dogs when I was in the ring. I didn’t realize she had a camera with her but she sent me some pictures that she took. This is my pretty Pearl. She will be two years old in May. She’s a tiny girl but she has tons of personality and she’s the best little love bug. She likes to get up in bed and steal my pillows. Every time I lay my head down I find her already asleep on the pillows. She loves to give hugs, too, and likes to try to get up in my lap. She’s a great little show dog, too. She has beautiful movement, which is dog show-speak for “she looks great when she trots.” Now, if I can just get her long hair to grow back!

 

In other dog news today, did you see the great story about the dog that was rescued from an island after four months and reunited with his family? A 4-year-old Blue Heeler named Sophie Tucker was swept overboard from a sailboat off the coast of Australia four months ago. Her family believed that she had died. But rangers found her last week on St. Bees Island in northern Queensland state, about six miles from where she went overboard. The rangers first thought they had found a wild dog because of Sophie’s appearance.

Sophie’s owners, the Griffith family, was shocked when they met the rangers’ boat at the mainland and saw Sophie on board.

“We called the dog and she started whimpering and banging the cage and they let her out and she just about flattened us,” Griffith told Monday’s Daily Mercury newspaper. “She wriggled around like a mad thing.”

The dog had been spotted by several people on both St. Bees and nearby Keswick Island, leading Griffith to believe she swam back and forth between the two, which are separated by a narrow channel. Queensland wildlife official Steve Fisher said three rangers trapped Sophie in a cage, using dog food as bait. “The day Sophie was trapped she was nervous because she’d been separated from human contact,” Fisher said. “But after a while she settled down.”

Sophie appeared to have survived by eating goats, as rangers found several baby goat carcasses around the island, Griffith said. This week, the plucky pup was back to her usual diet of ground meat and dog biscuits.

Isn’t that cool? I love stories about lost pets who come back home. This story reminds me that, with summer coming, many people may take their dogs swimming or boating. Believe it or not, not all dogs are good swimmers. Due to body size, shape, age, fear or other things, some dogs may not do well in the water. Dogs can certainly drown, just like people.

swimvest_header1If you’re going to take your dog out in a boat your dog needs to wear a life vest, just as you do. They come in all sizes and many colors — but you should be sure to get a bright color that can be seen from a distance in case your dog needs rescuing. Many owners like for their dogs to wear a life jacket when they go to lakes and other places to swim, too.

If you have a swimming pool you should take some precautions about allowing your dog to have access.

Don’t let your dog swim in a pool unless you or another adult are present. If your dog gets in trouble in the water there should be someone there who is able to get him out quickly, preferably someone who knows resuscitation techniques.

It’s usually best if you have a gate around your pool to keep your dog from falling in accidentally. Many dogs (and children) have drowned because of such accidents.

Keep your pool covered when it’s not in use.

And, very importantly, teach your dog how to get out of the pool! Even dogs who know how to swim may be at a loss when it comes to knowing how to get out of the pool. Go in the water with them and teach them where the steps are in your pool Teach them how to find the steps and climb out of the pool. This can save their lives.

Practice good water safety with your dog. Most dogs love the water but you should always respect it.

April 8, 2009 - Posted by | dogs, Pets | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] Greyt Inspirations Life placed an observative post today on Dogs and water safetyHere’s a quick excerptPearlPlease forgive me for being a proud mom, but I thought I would share this picture of my little Pearl. (Ignore that woman in orange.) I met somebody at the shows this weekend who was helping me hold my dogs when I was in the ring. I didn’t realize she had a camera with her but she sent me some pictures that she took. This is my pretty Pearl. She will be two years old in May. She’s a tiny girl but she has tons of personality and she’s the best little love bug. She likes to get up in be […]

    Pingback by Topics about Pillows » Dogs and water safety | April 8, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

