Greyt Inspirations Life

A little about our life, our business and our pets. www.greytinspirations.com

BooBoo takes a trip…and cakes for dogs

As much as I would love to go on ooohing and aawwing over Bobama the puppy for a few more days I don’t want to bore the rest of you.  I’m going to force myself to move on to other topics.

 

My house is very quiet today because my own little (really not so little) Boo Boo has gone on a dog show adventure this weekend.  There are some nice shows in Maryland this weekend — too far from home for me to drive.  But he’s eligible for some special classes for another month while he’s still under 18 months old and I wanted him to get to go.  So my handler friend Amy is going to show him for me this weekend.  I was giving him a bath in the middle of the night so he would look good.  We caught the dog show bus headed north at 7:30 this morning (otherwise known as Amy’s van).  Amy has been posting updates on her whereabouts on her Facebook page so I’ve been able to follow her progress.  At last report she was “parked” on 495 around DC.  I’m guessing she hit the Beltway just about rush hour.  Hopefully they will arrive at the showgrounds soon and they can all get ready for bed after their long drive.

 

Of course, I was very nervous about letting BooBoo go away for the weekend.  I know that he’s traveled before.  My friend Mari sent him to the field trainer for a few days when he was staying with her.  He’s a big boy and very well-adjusted.  I know that he can handle this.  But it’s hard on me!!!  I miss him.  It feels like part of my family is missing.  I keep resisting the urge to pick up the phone and call Amy to ask her how he’s doing.  I told Amy this morning that he was a big baby and that he might whine and cry and bark.  Then he made a complete liar of me and calmly walked away with her without even looking at me.  I think he’s handling this separation much better than I am.

 

Well, he does have other friendly dogs to ride with and to play with on the trip.  My dog Billie went on three or four of these trips with Amy and she adored her.  She was always very excited to go and seemed to have a lot of fun.

 

Keep your fingers crossed for BooBoo this weekend.  And for me.  I need some help getting through this weekend.  After this I’ll be back to showing him myself.  He won’t be eligible for sweeps anymore so there won’t be any rush about showing him.  We can stay closer to home and wait for shows to come up.

 

Wouldn't your dog love a cake of his own?

Wouldn't your dog love a cake of his own?

To take my mind off things today I was working on some interesting dog articles.  The topic was dog cakes.  A few weeks ago I watched some great shows on TV about these cake people  (bakers? they were much more than that) who make special cakes for weddings and other occasions.  The shows were almost like competitions where the cake people from New York were working on a cake, and people in Chicago and L.A. were also working on special cakes.  And it was all hectic but the cakes were fabulous.  I was very impressed.  Well, when I was working on these articles today I discovered that there are people who do the same thing for dogs!  They make cakes with all kinds of decorations in different flavors and colors.  They’re very sophisticated cakes for anyone but these are for dogs.

 

You can make cakes like these yourself, or at least delicious cakes that your dog will love no matter how they turn out.  The recipes are really not difficult and they simply involve baking the batter just as you would a regular cake.  You can frost them with frosting made from things like cream cheese, pureed cottage cheese, mashed bananas, or melted carob.

 

Here’s a good recipe I found:

 

Doggy Layer Cake

 

3 cups flour

1 T. baking powder

1/2 cup margarine, softened

6 eggs, beaten

1/2 cup corn oil

2 jars strained chicken baby food

2 cups finely shredded carrots

plain or vanilla yogurt

2 or 3 strips of bacon, fried crisp, then crumbled, or use bacon-flavored jerky strips, cut into bits.

 

Preparation

Generously grease and flour two 8″ round cake pans; set aside. Combine flour and baking powder; set aside. In a mixing bowl, beat softened margarine until smooth. Add eggs and corn oil; mix well. Add strained chicken, and shredded carrots and mix until smooth. Add flour mixture and mix thoroughly. Pour batter into the 2 prepared 8″ cake pans. Bake at 325° for 60 minutes. Let cool for a few minutes before removing from pans. Cool completely on wire racks.

 

Place one layer on a serving plate and spread yogurt over top. Place second layer on top, then spread yogurt on top and sides of entire cake. Sprinkle crumbled bacon or bits of jerky strips over top.

 

Use “Pupperoni” sticks instead of candles.

 

You can use these cakes for many different occasions — doggy birthday parties, Halloween, Christmas for pets.  You name it!  If you are going to celebrate a special occasion for people, you can include your dog with a great cake.  There are lots of great sites online with ideas and instructions on making cakes for dogs.  Try it out and see how much your dog loves them!

 

There’s no end to the party ideas you can come up with for your dog.  You can do party favors, have dog cookie invites, plan party games for pups.  Whatever you can imagine might be fun, your dog would probably enjoy.  Parties and cakes are lots of fun for dogs.  Give them a try sometime.

April 17, 2009 - Posted by | dogs, Pets | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

