Greyt Inspirations Life

A little about our life, our business and our pets. www.greytinspirations.com

Bath time!

I hate dog baths as much as the next person.  Oh, I know there are probably some people out there who enjoy bathing their dogs, but I’m not one of them.  After xx number of years and a gazillion baths, I’m over it.  Besides, I have five dogs, so that’s five times the baths.  When it’s bath day here it’s really bath DAY.  It takes all day.  By the time I’m finished my bathroom looks like there’s been a flood.  I usually have towels strewn everywhere.  There are shampoo bottles in the floor.  There’s water on the walls.  You get the picture.

 

The dogs are pretty good about their baths.  I can get each one into the tub with only a little coaxing.  Billie is the only one who actually runs off.  I have to go looking for her.  She usually gets up in bed and curls up in a little ball.  For all of the other dogs, when I get the shower nozzle down and the dog shampoo out, they start dancing around the bathroom door.  It’s just a question then of which one will be first.  Usually one of them decides to be brave and comes on in the bathroom.  Of course, the whole time I’m saying, “Treats!  There will be treats!  You’ll get lots of TREATS!”  LOL  And they do.  As soon as the bath is over they all race to the kitchen to get treats because when one dog gets a bath EVERYBODY gets treats.  That’s probably why they don’t all hide.  Then it’s on to the next dog.  By the end of the day I’m worn out.

 

article-1183016-04F5479C000005DC-225_634x633Well, as much as I get tired of bathing dogs, I’m not sure that I’d do it the way one Frenchman does it.  Romain Jarry has designed the Dog-O-Matic washing machine.  It’s pretty much just what it sounds like:  a washing machine for dogs.  It takes about half an hour to wash your dog in the machine.  The owner selects the “wash cycle” and the dog size before putting the dog in the washer.  (I’m not making this up.)  Then you press the button and the dog gets washed.

 

You have to see the photos to really appreciate this appliance:

 

Mr Jarry said: ‘It doesn’t take long to wash the dog – usually a few minutes. The longest part is the drying. The dogs don’t seem to get bored. They just sit there and they come out clean.

 

‘We are really hoping it will take off and that other places will start buying in the machines. 

 

‘I would love them to be available in England within the next year or so but at the moment people are still getting used to the idea.’

 

article-1183016-04F54772000005DC-273_634x434It costs about $25 to wash a small dog, $45 to wash a medium dog, and $60 to wash a large dog.  You can wash a cat (if you dare) for the small dog price.  The machine has been a huge success in Jarry’s hometown in France.

 

Somehow I just can’t imagine putting one of my dogs in that washing machine.  Oh, the guilt!  The inventor swears that it’s not cruel…but I don’t think my dogs would like it.

 

article-1183016-04F54836000005DC-631_634x444Now my significant other has long had the idea of putting the dogs in the back of a pick-up truck and driving through a car wash with them.  He thinks that would be the easiest way to give them baths.  I have to confess, that might be better than sticking them in a washing machine.

 

If bathing your dog is too difficult at your house — maybe you can’t quite bend over to reach your dog in the tub or you don’t have a good hose attachment to fit to your faucet — PetSmart stores often let you bathe and groom your dog in their grooming shop for a small charge.  I think you can take your own shampoo or buy theirs.  But they have those great, easy-to-use tubs made especially for dogs.  It’s very easy to bathe dogs in tubs like that.

 

If anyone does try the Dog-O-Matic please let us know.  We’d love to post a review here!

 

 

May 20, 2009 - Posted by | dogs, Pets | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

